Sea Sense Board of Members

Sea Sense is governed by a Board of Members which takes overall responsibility for the Organization, including responsibility for identifying key risk areas, considering and monitoring decisions, considering significant financial matters, and reviewing the performance of management. The Board is also responsible for ensuring that a comprehensive system of internal control policies and procedures is operative, and for compliance with sound governance principles. The Board meets at least once per year. An Executive Committee comprising five members of the Board (including the Chair and Treasurer) meets quarterly. The Board delegates the day to day management of Sea Sense to the Director of the Organisation.

The Board of Members is chaired by Professor Yunus Mgaya (Tanzania Commission for Universities) and members include Dr Magnus Ngoile (UDSM), Melkiory Ngido (Deloitte Consulting Ltd), Catharine Joynson-Hicks, Matt Richmond (Cowi Tanzania Ltd), Jeremiah Daffa (WWF Tanzania), Jason Rubens (Sound Oceans Ltd), Dr Blandina Lugendo (UDSM) and Mathias Igulu (Tanzania Fisheries Research Institute).

Did you know?

Over a quarter of the Tanzanian population live in the coastal zone and rely solely on marine resources for their livelihoods.


What do we know about marine turtle populations in Lindi Region?

Tanzania supports small but critical populations of nesting green and hawksbill turtles. In...

Expected Green Turtle Hatching Dates in December 2018

16, 21, 28, 31
South Beach
12th & 26th
Mafia Island